Compassion2One

Compassion2One is a non-profit organisation that rescue lives of children and young people from sex trafficking. A few Fridays ago we had the chance to meet Jerry Leisure the regional director for the United Kingdom of the organisation.

He asked for our innovative and creative ideas in order to raise the awareness about this important and unethical issue during the Olympics period in July – August 2012. I am really proud to say that me and my team, composed by Juliet, David and Arinola (a really international team) managed to win, even if all the ideas were amazing! We are a really thoughtful and creative class :). As you can see from the video we had many ideas, in order to try to reach EVERYBODY, from the student, to parents and old people.

I feel strongly about this issue, probably because I am a woman, and since I was a little kid, my parents always told me to not trust adults that I didn’t know… and I have been very lucky, no one ever payed attention to me! But thinking about these young girls, and boys, and thinking that it could have been me, or my little sister or my future kids, it really breaks my heart. I can’t understand how some people have the courage to these things. First, how can someone, who is him/herself  a son or daughter, or maybe he or she has kids of its own, do something like this to innocent children, meaning taking them away from their family, but above all abuse them sexually and pay for it. You people really disgust me. The only thing that you deserve is that they would do it to you in your next life, and lets see how you feel.

I just think that this is one of the most horrible things that are happening in our modern world. I do not know if this ever happened in the past eras, but now the world is really crap from this point of view. When I think about these things the idea of one day having my own children, just does not feel right. I would just be a mean and selfish person to give birth to a child in this dangerous and crappy world. People say we should see the positive side of things, but when child sex trafficking or issues like this come up, there is really nothing positive about it.

I will state Jerry Leisure himself, in order to give us hope:

I genuinely believe the intellectual horsepower of tomorrows generation is going to make the difference today and onwards. I am committed to taking all of your ideas and put them into action in the UK and globally.  I am really excited about what each of us can do to save “one child at a time!”

About ilariacacciamani

MA in Ad and the creative economy student View all posts by ilariacacciamani

One response to “Compassion2One

Leave a comment